Taxonomy on how to be a self-directed learner

Taxonomy on how to be a self-directed learner

In the 21st century where we learn has changed a lot, we can learn in informal settings online which has changed the way in which we view the educational landscape and scope of learning as stated by Kop and Fournier (2010). This taxonomy will look at some skills required to be a self-directed learner in an environment where learning can continue and happen outside of the classroom and through many different mediums.

Becoming a lifelong learner is a very important skill to establish from an early age so that learning is not something that you react to but something you can be proactive about. This is something that as a pre-service teacher I would like to improve on to better myself and to encompass that skill so pass on to the students in my class to encourage them to reach their full potential and to have the desire to keep learning outside of the classroom. This taxonomy will show what steps I would need to take to become more proactive in my learning.

A Taxonomy of Self-directed Learning

Remembering – Looking back at what I have learnt in the short and long term aspect and reflecting on what I have learnt and looking for any aspects in could I look into a certain topic more, did I get enough information on what I learnt about. For example do I comprehensively understand all aspects of grammar or are there some areas in which I could look into and learn more to improve.

Researching – Being proactive about researching things that I want to learn more about or that I think would be beneficial to know about for the future. I could do this by creating a list of things that I want to know more about for my own knowledge, to help in the classroom as a teacher or things that I want to improve on. Researching and learning could be done in multiple ways through PD courses available on the topics, through online mediums, through colleagues, at school, in the classroom, through online forums and articles and through literature.

Recording – I learn best from taking in information and recording it in my own words or writing things down, after researching to ensure the information I have looked up is retained I would record it and write it down so I can refer to it at a later time and to help with my memory recall.

Recalling – Being able to recall the information I have learnt is an important aspect of learning so not flooding myself with too much information could be one way to ensure the knowledge I am trying to gain is meaningful and I can recall it. Learning outside of the formal classroom should be a way of life, I don’t want to view it as a set task due on the weekend but as a way of learning that can enhance my knowledge and professional life.

Reflecting – A great way to learn for myself is reflection, reflecting on what I know, what I’ve done in a professional sense and always looking for strategies that worked and things that I could do better and different ways to do things. The same view applies to being a productive lifelong learner, I would reflect on what I know and have learnt and look for different ways to do things, what I could learn more about and ways in which I could do things better to enhance my professional learning.

 

 

Leave a Reply

